Four Poems in *ditch,*

Four poems from my forthcoming book e.s.p. can now be found at ditch, which is “a Canadian online poetry magazine celebrating the non-conforming, the radical, the alternative, the surreal, the avant-garde, the non-linear, the abstract, the experimental.”

The last poem, “until my mouth becomes my tongue’s sarcophagus,” contains a quote from the Aitareya Upanishad–a quote that David Lynch used to introduce his bizarre and brilliant film Inland Empire (2006).

~ by Michael Leong on June 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “Four Poems in *ditch,*”

  1. Hola from a fellow International ditch poet. I liked your work.

    In “The Signals” I kept thinking/saying “what with” instead of “with what” and bouncing back between the two. I really enjoyed that affect the poem had on me.

    Like I said to another Michael when I first met him, “Two Mikes huh? Don’t make it right!” Yes… cheesy. I am aware.

  2. Hi Michael. Thanks so much for the note! It’s nice to “meet” a fellow ditch poet. Do you know Will Alexander’s poetry? I was reading his stunning book *Exobiology as Goddess* when I was writing the Signal poems and his work definitely provided an inspiration—so I’m quite grateful to him. The book begins:

    Not some writhing in a tortuous canine province
    nor some hallucinated witness starving in a broken endocrine
    manger
    but Solea
    the splendiferous dolorosos of Solea
    with her blind electrical surges
    with her transmundane penetration…

    I love his wildly extravagant diction combined with a precise rhetorical structure…great stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
