Midnight’s Marsupium (The Knives Forks and Spoons Press, 2010)

I’m happy to announce that my new chapbook has been released this week by UK-based The Knives Forks and Spoons Press.  A hearty thanks to Alec Newman for his great work on making this project a handsome physical object.  It’s worth checking out the press’ catalog as it contains a lot of interesting and innovative projects — particularly those which intersect with poetry and performance… 

Midnight’s Marsupium consists of two discrete series: a set of visual poems (some of which can be found here) and a set of haibun (some of which can be found here). 

Because of a software error, I happened upon a small stack of incorrectly printed copies, and instead of chucking them, I decided to get my hands dirty and to creatively appropriate them through processes of collage and erasure.  The results constitute a “self-review” of the book that I “wrote” which is now up at the always entertaining blog We Who Are About To Die (the image above is an example of what I did to the title page); check it out here

Since I have some deviant copies left, I’ll send them out to anyone who is willing to creatively appropriate and/or destroy the copies and document the results and/or process (through images or video).  Just email me (michael.c.leong@gmail.com) your address and I’ll shoot you a copy.  I’ll then collect all the results and post them at Big Other.

[UPDATE: All copies are gone — thanks so much for your interest and stayed tuned for The Midnight’s Marsupium Defacement Project!]

~ by Michael Leong on September 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
